top of page

Unpopular Opinion: The Bachelor Australia 2016


Image by Genevieve Rota

Whoops, spoiler alert!. Tonight on Australian TV, we watched the finally of the Bachelor 2016 where Richie chose the girl of his dreams. Richie had to make a decision between two lovely, caring blonde women who we've come to love and even possible dislike along their journey. Going into the finale, most Australian's were rooting for Nikki, who is from WA like Richie. Personally, I liked Nikki. I thought she was a good person and would have made Richie happy. I also thought that Nikki was too serious and having only come out of her previous relationship a year ago, I got the impression that she was very vulnerable and looking for someone to complete her. Alex on the other hand, is a single mum from Victoria. I believed it would be difficult for Richie to fit into Alex's life with her son and the location she lives in. However, it was undeniable from the start that Alex and Richie had a strong and passionate connection. The laughed together a lot and Richie always looked calm and relaxed with her.

So, my unpopular opinion is that I'm glad Alex won Richie's heart. Although I'm not sure whether they will last as a couple, I think Richie made the right choice by following his heart and not just settling for Nikki because it was the most logical and sensible choice. Alex and Richie share a passion that has been undeniable throughout the series. A relationship needs a spark for it to work. It needs a desire for one another. Richie listened to his heart and not his head tonight which I admire and relate to.

Soon we will find out if Richie and Alex are still together after filming has finished and they are out in the real world. Stay tuned.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page